Header Ads Widget

Minority stages walkout during second reading on E-levy

 The Minority in Parliament staged a walkout during the second reading of the E-levy on Tuesday, March 29.

They left after Minority Leader Haruna Iddrisu stated that the NDC MPs are unified in their opposition to the proposal.

On the House floor on Tuesday, March 29, he branded the E-levy proposal as punitive, adding that if passed, it would raise the "high cost of doing business in the country" even higher.

"The e-levy is the most obnoxious of obnoxious taxes," he added, adding that "companies are suffering under your watch." We are united in our opposition to the E-levy, and we will not vote for it."

On Tuesday, March 29, Finance Minister Ken Ofori-Atta moved a resolution in Parliament to pass the E-levy.

This came after he made a declaration in the House about the E-levy.

"As a result, I move the motion" to approve the E-levy, he added.

Kwaku Kwarteng, MP for Obuasi West, seconded the motion.

However, just before he completed making his remarks Minority Leader Haruna Iddrisu rose and stated they could not discuss on it because they did have access to the report. Murtala Mohammed, a legislator from Tamale Central, backed him up."The copies of the report are being distributed now," Speaker Alban Bagbin said. "I don't think it is proper for us to cease session; I will allow you time to study the report and make a constructive comment."

Post a Comment